LSM Web Links

Mopars at the Motorplex 2012: Pictures and Final Results PDF Print E-mail
Written by Lance   
Saturday, 09 June 2012 08:25

Mopars at the Motorplex, held every year at Texas Motorplex, took on a new character this year.  In addition to the usual festivities (bracket racing, swap meet, and car show), Mopar Action came in and launched their inaugural Mega Mopar Action Series Event.

This is of course, the beginning of what will hopefully turn into a nice race-show circuit for the Mopar faithful and as a side benefit, give you a really good chance of making the magazine, lol.  Lone Star Mopars was lucky enough to have HD4406z on hand to capture some pictures so everyone can enjoy things.  The show end was admittedly a bit sparse, and the swap meet wasn't much to brag about, but the racing was great and overall a quarter mile complex chock full of Mopars is a success any way you look at...Speaking of that, check out the pics...

Overview and Group Shots:


Late Model Challengers:


68-70 Chargers, 1st and 3rd Gens too:

Coronets, Superbees, Challengers, Cudas, and Roadrunners Oh My:

The Pits and Race Action:


Late Model Mopar Assortment:


Again, big thanks to Lone Star Mopars Forum Member HD4406z for taking the pics and sending them our way!


And for those of your curious, here are the final results as per Mopar Action:

Car Show

Truck winner: Jerry Reed, 1987 Dodge Ram

Trucks r/u: Richard Lemmon, 2012 Dodge Ram

Early Model Stock winner: Ken Key, 1970 AAR ‘Cuda

Early Model Stock r/u: Lesa Key, 1970 Challenger T/A

Early Model Modified winner: Dave Mandato, 1966 Charger

Early Model Modified r/u: Rusty Webster, 1969 Plymouth Road Runner

Modern Mopar winner: Rufus Martin, 2002 PT Cruiser

Modern Mopar r/u: Travis & Michelle Bennett, 2009 Challenger

Exotic winner: Greg Wotipka, 1932 Ford with a 392 HEMI®

Race Car winner: Brad Katzung, 1968 Plymouth ‘Cuda

Race Car r/u: Rick Livingston, 1964 Dodge 330

Best Paint: Chris Cassell, 2007 Charger

Best Engine: Jim & Kathy Boston, 1972 Plymouth ‘Cuda

Best Interior: Jim McCutchen, 1968 Charger

Best Wheels: Joseph Barlow

Best of Show: Trenton Grant, 1969 Dodge Charger R/T

Bracket Race

HEMI Shootout

Winner – Michael Loredo, Waco, TX 2004 RAM

R/U – Douglass Vincent, Coarville, IA 2007 Chrysler

Nostalgia Super Stock

Winner – Dave Schultz, Richmond, TX 1960 Plymouth

R/U – Randy Stansbury, Ragley, LA 1963 Belvedere

Managers Cup Race

Winner – Jan McMillan, Breckenridge, TX

R/U – Jimmy McMillan, Breckenridge, TX

LX Sportsman

Winner – Uriah Kesner, Choctaw, OK

R/U – Rod Heltzel, Jacksboro, TX

Nickles Auto Super Pro

Winner – Jacob Pitt, Mansfield, TX 1973 Challenger

R/U – Phillip Nickles, Midlothian, TX 1973 ‘Cuda


Winner – Sam Saxton, Arlington, TX 1968 Dart

R/U Gary Powers, Chandler, TX 1970 Dart

TX Trailer Electronic

Winner – Jason Scott, Benbrook, TX Viper

R/U – David Snider, Sanger, TX 1967 Barracuda

Last Updated on Saturday, 09 June 2012 09:39
Copyright © 2020 Lone Star Mopars. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.
Which Tuner Do You Like Best?